How to become a true Star Wars Fan – Guest Blog

Guest Blogger Gregory Wildeman

(Ed. Note: Greg and I saw Star Wars: The Force Awakens together. He apparently has been considering how one becomes a true Star Wars fan for the first time and shared an email with me, which I have turned into a post)

I read your review and I wanted to put an idea forth to you on Star Wars. Firstly the review was more or less spot-on in my opinion. I’d like to expand on it by taking you through a progression of what I believe is something that needs to be discussed:

How to intake Star Wars for the first time. 


This debate, which has gone on for some time, actually has a prevailing theory: The machete order.

I find this theory to vastly under serve one trying to understand the full universe. See, the full universe is not only about the movies- there are books, comics, movies, video games, etc. Some of these are canonical (defined as released directly from a Lucas Company or now Disney) and some aren’t. I am going to create the Ultimate Order using only canonical reference. In which case you can only discuss moves, tv shows, and video games.

giphy.gifLevel 1 – Your name is recorded on a Jedi Holocron

Firstly, to be a true Star Wars fan- you have to watch 4,5,6 first. Followed by 4,5,6,4,5,6,4,5,6,4,5,6, on repeat until you can almost repeat the movies orally. Because that’s how most of us took it in. Then once you’ve seen the movies 8 zillion times- you find an old version of Super Star Wars for SNES and play through the trilogy of games. After you’ve conquered the video games and sufficiently imaged 4-6 on your brain- you have graduated to the next level. It is important to be this disciplined because we hit the lowest point of Star Wars very early on.


Level 2 – Padawan

Next, you watch Star Wars Episode 1 three times, and three times only. Afterwards you take a shower each time and maybe even watch 4, 5, and 6 just to remind yourself why you are doing what you are doing. At this point you take a hiatus from watching any movie because there is a lot of additional content that needs to be digested. Firstly, you need to play Rogue Squadron for N64, followed by Jedi Starfighter and Starfighter 2 for the PS2- all really awesome. Also for the hard core gamer/Star Wars fan- Obi Wan for Xbox is a solid game. Lucas also released Podracer for N64 and Galactic Battlegrounds for PC which should be played. All solid experiences that show parts of the universe that needs to be experienced. Okay so now that you’ve done all of this and invested 500 plus hours of time.


Level 3 – Padawan taking the trials.

You have now graduated to the next level and are ready to swallow the next bad movie- Episode 2. This is the turnaround point for Star Wars though- you’ve lived the high point of the first three and some solid video games and then survived the low point of the series more or less because the expanded universe saves the franchise in the golden age of video games.

Just by surviving the horrible acting or Episode 2 (on the flip side some really cool lightsaber battles) you survived the trials.


Level 4 – Jedi Knight

As this point you have some real work to do if you really want to become do Star Wars in the Ultimate Order. Firstly, you have to play Lego Star Wars because it’s just really fun, then you follow up with Knights of the Old Republic and Knights of the Old Republic 2- these are MUSTS- these games are literally movie important. They are the real prequel to the story that anyone who doesn’t play video games missed. They are real gems. You then have to watch the Clone Wars animated TV show in the following order (because the releases are weird and confusing).

THIS IS ALSO A MUST- THIS SERIES IS BOMB.COM.  The Force Unleashed video game series should also be taken in as well as Battlefront 2. The Force Unleashed expands on Vader while Battlefront 2 puts into perspective Order 66. At this point you should probably watch the old 4-6 again just to make sure you see all the nuance and you have graduated again.


Level 5- Being seduced by the dark side – Sith Lord

At this point you are ready for Episode 3. You watch it a few times because although it’s long it’s got a lot of nuance and has an immeasurably hard task of tying the extended universe together in one crushing moment, and in my opinion actually does a decent job- the movie is average but the importance of episode 3 is great.


Level 6 – Coming back to the light – Jedi Master

There are three things left once you’ve gotten here. The first is Force Awakens which pulls from the successes of everything previous (not just heavily relied upon plot of Episode 4) and ties it into a new chapter. For instance – Finn being a stormtrooper was no accident- The Clone Wars utilized clones/stormtroopers in an amazing way and it was no coincidence they went back to it in this movie. Dinsey Infinity 3 is supposed to be a real cool experience although I have not played it, as well as the new Battlefront game for PS4/Xbox1(also not played). I would say one would need to experience those in some fashion but the jury is out. The last is the new Rebels series on Disney which I have also not watched but again supposedly the series is as good as the Clone Wars. One would need to take both of those in as well.

To Recap the way to become a true Star Wars Fan and how intake should occur

Level 1:

  • Watch 4-6 a Bazillion times
  • Play through the Super Star Wars series on SNES

Level 2:

  • Star Wars Episode 1
  • Rogue Squadron
  • Jedi Starfighter 1 and 2
  • Podracer
  • Galactic Battlegrounds
  • Obi Wan

Level 3:

  • Episode 2

star-wars-toys-why-is-toy-story-4-happening-jpeg-170317.jpgLevel 4:

  • Lego Star Wars
  • Knights of the Old Republic 1 and 2
  • The Clone Wars Series (plus movie)
  • The Force Unleashed
  • Battlefront 2

Level 5:

  • Episode 3

Level 6:

  • Episode 7
  • Disney Infinity 3
  • New Battlefront
  • Rebels Series on TV

UnknownNow if you were to do all of this in chronological order

  • Knights of the Old Republic 1 and 2
  • Obi Wan
  • Episode 1
  • Podracer
  • Jedi Starfighter 1 and 2
  • Episode 2
  • The Clone Wars
  • Disney Infinity 3.0
  • Episode 3
  • Battlefront 2
  • The Force Unleashed
  • Rebels TV serie
  • Rogue Squadron
  • Episodes 4-6
  • SNES games
  • Galactic Battlegrounds
  • Lego Star Wars
  • New Battlefront
  • Episode 7

This was my first shot at this theory which I call the Ultimate Order. There are some things I knowingly left out but in my experience these were the best of the best in terms of what Star Wars has to offer. Things like Knights and The Clone Wars series are left off these “movie lists” and these lists chop off huge parts of the star wars universe that just can’t be missed in fully understanding the context of the Galaxy far far away.

I apologize for the length of this post but the idea has been brewing in my head for 3 weeks now and I feel that you might be the one to send the idea to. Hope you enjoy!


3 comments on “How to become a true Star Wars Fan – Guest Blog

  1. mkaiserman says:

    I believe The Holiday Special has to be added to be complete especially to get the introduction of Boba Fett.

  2. Sean Brewer says:

    You should also be able to accurately answer 80% of questions in the star wars deck in the “Heads Up” game.

  3. Alicia Smith says:

    Ive always believed that I am from the dark side. Lol. Thanks for this magnificent post! I now sure that I am a true star wars fan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s